2010 Awards

ACP McElwain Prize

Colin Lindsay Beatson, Institute for Cancer Research, Glasgow, UK
P-Rex1 is a central component of metastasis in malignant melanoma

BACR AstraZeneca Young Scientist Frank Rose Award

Grant Stewart, University of Birmingham, UK
HNRNPUL-1 promotes DNA double-strand break and secretion

BACR Translational Research Award

Britta Weigelt, Cancer Research UK London Research Institute, London, UK
Molecular taxonomy of breast cancer: is there a gold standard?


Poster Award Winners

BACR Hamilton-Fairley Young Investigator Award

Tine Mantoni, Serena Lunardi and Thomas Brunner, Gray Institute for Radiation Oncology and Biology, Oxford University, UK
Tumour-stellate cell interaction and radiation resistance in pancreatic cancer

BOA Young Investigator Award

Nicholas West1, Kate Sutton1, Peter Ingeholm2, Rikke Hagemann-Madsen3, Werner Hohenberger4, Philip Quirke1,
1Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine, Leeds, UK, 2Hillerod Hospital, Copenhagen, Denmark, 3Aarhus University Hospital, Aarhus, Denmark, 4University Hospital of Erlangen, Erlangen, Germany
Improving the quality of colon cancer surgery through a multidisciplinary education programme

CCLG McElwain Award

Matthew Murray1, Harpreet Saini2, Stijn van Dongen2, Roger Palmer1, Balajo Muralidhar1, Mark Pett, Matias Piipari3, Claire Thornton4, James Nicholson5, Anton Enright2, Nicholas Coleman1
1MRC Cancer Cell Unit, Cambridge, UK, 2EMBL-EBI Hinxton, Cambridge, UK, 3Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Hinxton Cambridge UK, 4Department of Pathology, Royal Group of Hospitals Trust, Belfast, UK, 5Department of Paediatric Haemotology and Oncology, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge, UK
The two most common histological subtypes of malignant germ cell tumour are distinguished by global mRNA profiles, associated with differential transcription regulation