Each year the Scientific Committee plays an important role in the development of the NCRI Cancer Conference programme. Below are the current Committee members.

Eric O'Neill

CRUK/MRC Oxford Institute

University of Oxford

Paul Huang

Team Leader

The Institute of Cancer Research

Clare Isacke

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology

The Institute of Cancer Research

Richard Kennedy

Richard Kennedy

Professor in Medical Oncology

Queen’s University Belfast / Almac diagnostics

Simon Leedham

Cancer Research UK Clinician Scientist and an Honorary Consultant Gastroenterologist

University of Oxford

Ian Mills

John Black Associate Professor of Prostate Cancer

University of Oxford

Jim Norman


Cancer Research UK – Beatson Institute

Liz Patton

Programme Leader, MRC Human Genetics Unit Reader

CRUK Edinburgh Centre, MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine, University of Edinburgh

Sakari Vanharanta

Programme Leader, MRC Cancer Unit

University of Cambridge

Manuel Rodriguez-Justo

Consultant in Histopathology and Senior Lecturer

University College London Hospitals NHS Trust

Jaine Blayney


Queen’s University Belfast

Margaret Grayson

NCRI Consumer Forum

National Cancer Research Institute

Richard Houlston

Team Leader

The Institute of Cancer Research

Suneil Jain

Clinical Reader and Consultant Clinical Oncologist

Queen’s University Belfast

Mark Lawler

Dean of Education – Translational Cancer Genomics

Queen’s University Belfast

Eva Morris

Professor of Cancer Epidemiology

University of Leeds

Nitzan Rosenfeld

Senior Group Leader

CRUK-CI, University of Cambridge

Linda Sharp

Professor of Cancer Epidemiology

Newcastle University

Rob Bristow

University Professor of Cancer Studies, Director of MCRC – TUmour Hypoxia, DNA & Genomics – Therapies, treatment response

The University of Manchester/ CRUK Manchester Institute

Sarah Danson

Professor of Medical Oncology

University of Sheffield

Mererid Evans

Consultant Clinical Oncologist

Velindre Cancer Centre

Sean Lim

Associate Professor and Honorary Consultant in Haematological Oncology

University of Southampton

Stuart Mcintosh

Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant Breast Surgeon

Queen’s University Belfast

Ruth Plummer

Consultant Medical Oncologist

Newcastle University

Ganesh Radhakrishna

Consultant Clinical Oncologist -Gastrointestinal, Pancreatic, Oesophageal and hepaticopancreaticobiliary(HPB) cancers

Royal College of Radiologists

M Salto Tellez

Manuel Salto-Tellez

Clinical Professor Pathway of cancer biomarker development, discovery – diagnosis – treatment

Queen’s University Belfast

Matt Seymour

Chair of Gastrointestinal Cancer Medicine & Hon. Consultant Medical Oncologist Director of NIHR Cancer Research Network (NCRN)

NIHR Clinical Research Network

Dan Stark

Associate professor in cancer medicine and honorary consultant in medical oncology

University of Leeds and Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Richard Wilson

Professor of Gastro-Intestinal Oncology

University of Glasgow

Richard Simcock

Consultant Clinical Oncologist

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

Sam Ahmedzai

National Speciality Lead for Supportive Care and Community-based Research

NIHR CRN Cancer Cluster

Sara Faithfull

Professor of Cancer Nursing Practice

Lead for Clinical Innovation University of Surrey

Derek Kyte

Lecturer in Health Research Methods

University of Birmingham

Camille Maringe

Research Fellow

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Agata Rembielak

Consultant Clinical Oncologist

The Christie NHS Foundation Trust

Richard Stephens

Former Chair of the NCRI Consumer Forum

National Cancer Research Institute

Galina Velikova

Professor Medical Oncology

University of Leeds

Eila Watson

Professor Supportive Cancer Care

Oxford Brookes University