NCRI Excellence Award Winners

To celebrate our 15th year anniversary, we introduced the NCRI Excellence Awards; honouring research teams and other individuals who have made a significant contribution to cancer research. There were three categories to apply for: Collaboration Award, Impact Award and Innovation Award. A special award was also given for Outstanding Contribution to the NCRI.

“We are delighted to recognise and honour the achievements made by these individuals and teams who have worked effortlessly in the community to help accelerate progress in cancer research for the benefit of patients and society” said Dr Iain Frame, CEO of NCRI.

The nominations were reviewed and shortlisted by an independent panel with representatives of the NCRI Partners and the NCRI Cancer Conference Scientific Committee. Dr Frame continued: “We received many high-quality submissions and the panel had a tough decision to make but they felt the shortlisted entries matched all criteria, often surpassing expectations”.


Congratulations to our award winners!

  • Collaboration Award: Paediatric Adolescent Wildtype & Syndromic-Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumour (PAWS-GIST) Alliance nominated by Jayne Bressington


  • Impact Award: Paul Pharoah at the Department of Cancer Epidemiology, University of Cambridge and Jem Rashbass, Public Health England nominated by Alexandra Freeman


  • Innovation Award: Mathew Garnett, Translational Cancer Genomics Group Leader, Wellcome Sanger Institute nominated by Alexandra Bonner


  • Outstanding Contribution to the NCRI Award: Richard Stephens, Former Chair of the NCRI Consumer Forum nominated by Emma Kinloch, Roger Wilson, Terry Kavanagh and Yuki Alencar