2019 Scientific Committee

We are grateful to all members of the Scientific Committee for their guidance and support, which helps our team produce an innovative and exciting programme for the Conference . This year’s committee is chaired by Clare Isacke and David Cameron, who oversee four sub-committees, each focusing on specific areas of research. All committee members are actively working in cancer research and have been selected due to their expertise in the field.


Clare Isacke
(2019 Joint Chair)

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology

The Institute of Cancer Research, UK

Ruth Plummer
(2019 Joint Chair)

Consultant Medical Oncologist

Newcastle University, UK

Cancer Discovery

Eric O’Neill

CRUK/MRC Oxford Institute

University of Oxford, UK

Clare Isacke

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology

The Institute of Cancer Research, UK

Jim Norman

Cancer Research UK – Beatson Institute, UK

Katarzyna Leszczynska

Postdoctoral Researcher

CRUK/MRC Oxford Institute for Radiation Oncology, University of Oxford, UK

Liz Patton

Programme Leader, MRC Human Genetics Unit Reader

CRUK Edinburgh Centre, MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine, University of Edinburgh, UK

Margaret Frame

Science Director, CRUK Edinburgh Centre
Director, MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine (IGMM)

University of Edinburgh, UK

Owen Sansom


Cancer Research UK Beatson Institute, UK

Sakari Vanharanta

Programme Leader, MRC Cancer Unit

University of Cambridge, UK

Simon Leedham

Cancer Research UK Clinician Scientist and an Honorary Consultant Gastroenterologist

University of Oxford

Prevention, Early Detection, Diagnosis and Prognosis

Linda Bauld

Professor of Health Policy and Dean of Research, University of Stirling
CRUK/BUPA Chair in Behavioural Research for Cancer Prevention, Cancer Research UK

University of Stirling, UK

David Weller

Head of General Practice

Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences & Informatics, University of Edinburgh, UK

Francesca Buffa

Associate Professor and Principal Investigator
Computational Biology and Integrative Genomics

University of Oxford, UK

Fiona Walter

Principal Researcher/ Reader in the Primary Care Unit, Department of Public Health & Primary Care

University of Cambridge, UK

Ian Tomlinson

Director of the Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences

University of Birmingham, UK

Manuel Rodrigo-Justo

Consultant in Histopathology and Senior Lecturer

University College London Hospitals NHS Trust, UK

Nitzan Rosenfeld

Senior Group Leader

CRUK-CI, University of Cambridge, UK

Richard Houlston

Team Leader

The Institute of Cancer Research, UK



Maria Hawkins

Associate Professor in Clinical Oncology, MRC Clinical Group Leader/Honorary Consultant Clinical Oncologist, CRUK MRC Oxford Institute for Radiation Oncology

University of Oxford, UK

Dan Stark

Associate professor in cancer medicine and honorary consultant in medical oncology

University of Leeds and Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, UK

David Cameron

Professor of Oncology and Centre Clinical Director

CRUK Edinburgh Centre, The University of Edinburgh, UK

David Jayne

Professor of Surgery

University of Leeds, UK


Di Gilson

Chair of Clinical Oncology Professional Learning and Development Subcommittee
Consultant Clinical Oncologists, Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust

The Royal College of Radiologists, UK

Gillies McKenna

Director, Molecular Resistance to Treatments Group

CRUK/MRC Oxford Institute for Radiation Oncology, UK

Matt Seymour

Matt Seymour

Chair of Gastrointestinal Cancer Medicine & Hon. Consultant Medical Oncologist
Director of NIHR Cancer Research Network (NCRN)
Clinical Research Director of National Cancer Research Institute (NCRI)

NIHR Clinical Research Network: cancer, Leeds, UK and the National Cancer Research Institute, UK

Pippa Corrie

Consultant and Associate Lecturer in Medical Oncology

Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, UK

Richard Wilson

Clinical Professor

Queens University Belfast, UK

Ruth Plummer

Consultant Medical Oncologist

Newcastle University, UK

Sue Bailey_smallSue Bailey

Strategic partnership and Early Asset Director

BMS UK and Ireland, UK

Chair of Industry Consultation Group – no involvement in presentation or speaker selection

Terry Jones

Professor of Head and Neck Surgery, Cancer Lead for NIHR CRN NWC and Honorary Consultant Otolaryngologist / Head and Neck Surgeon

University of Liverpool and Aintree University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, UK

Tim Maughan

Professor of Clinical Oncology and Deputy Director of the MRC-CRUK Oxford Institute of Radiation Oncology

Department of Oncology, University of Oxford, UK

Cancer Control, Living With & Beyond and Cancer Outcomes


Lynda Wyld

Professor of Surgical Oncology

Department of Oncology and Metabolism, University of Sheffield, UK

Diana Greenfield

Macmillan Consultant Nurse

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, UK

Eila Watson

Professor Supportive Cancer Care

Oxford brookes University, UK

Galina Valikova

Professor Medical Oncology

University of Leeds, UK

Gemma Pearce

Research Associate

Centre for Advances in Behavioural Science, Coventry University, UK

Richard Simcock

Consultant Clinical Oncologist

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, UK

Sam Ahmedzai

National Speciality Lead for Supportive Care and Community-based Research

NIHR CRN Cancer Cluster, UK

Stephanie Sivell

Marie Curie Research Associate

Cardiff University, UK


Fiona Hemsley

Director of Research Operations

The Institute of Cancer Research, UK

Richard Stephens

Consumer Forum